For Teachers

May 13, 2009 at 11:09 am 1 comment

I got this lovely booklet from the participants who attended my Workshop on Bible Knowledge last Saturday. In this booklet, there are wonderful poems on how teachers ought to view their students and themselves. I love all of them but I’d like to share one in particular with you.

Humble Us, Lord

He knows the subject well, Lord.
His grades are very high.
But yet he is a challenge
and I’m sure that you know why.

He’s self-assured and confident
there’s nothing he would hide,
but Lord he lacks humility—
this fellow’s filled with pride!

He chuckles when the others fail,
he just has no compassion,
And I have had to fight myself
in almost the same fashion.

Because when he’s so unkind,
I want to strike back, too,
but the way to teach him gentleness
would be to act like you.

The only way to show this child
that kindness is the key,
is to let him see humility,
mirrored today in me.

This poem reminds me of what my teacher told me when I did my temporary teaching in my former school. She said students can bring out the worst in you and it’s so easy to react unkindly. But the call to be a teacher  requires one to be patient when those occasions arise.

Entry filed under: education, Poems.

Tribute to Teachers Teacher will Cane you

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Periwinkles  |  May 14, 2009 at 10:47 pm

    Yes, a lot of patience is needed. Until the student knows how much you care, he/she won’t care how much you know.

    Remember what William Arthur Ward said? The mediocre teacher tells, the good teacher explains, the superior teacher demonstrates, the great teacher inspires.

    I admit I wasn’t a very easy student (or rather, trainee) when I was in the teacher’s training college; I had expectations and could be rather demanding at times. I think my lecturers were very patient with me. Especially my supervisor. He’s that great teacher who inspires.

    Happy Teacher’s Day! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Pages

Blog Stats

  • 27,067 hits

